वज़न / Weight


एक दिन
महसूस हुआ मुझे
कि मेरा वज़न बढ़ गया है काफी,
किसी ने सुझाव दिया
‘नियमित व्यायाम करो’,
किया भी यह मैं ने
लेकिन कोई फायदा नहीं हुआ,
मैं चला गया मननशील ध्यान में
शांति और एकांत में…


और निकाल फेंका बाहर
उस स्वार्थ को
जो छुप गया था कहीं अंदर
मेरे दिल की गहराइयों में,
और उस भारी भरकम अहंकार को भी
जिसने मेरे दिमाग में 
स्थापित कर लिया था खुद को
एक बड़ी सी पथरी की तरह…


अब मैं हल्का और अच्छा
महसूस कर रहा हूं…


🥀🥀🥀🥀🥀🥀🥀🥀🥀


One day
I realised that I have gained
a lot of weight,
someone suggested,
‘do regular exercise’,
I did it too,
but to no avail,
then I went into
contemplative meditation
in silence and solitude…


and threw out
the selfishness
that was hidden somewhere
deep inside my heart,
and also the portly ego
that had established itself
like a big stone in my mind…


now I feel
light and fine…


–Kaushal Kishore

28 Comments

  1. Top class poem of the day. What a wonderful poem and what a wonderful message! This is probably one of your best poems, Kaushal ji. Loved it a lot. ♥️♥️♥️♥️🌹🌹🌹

    Liked by 2 people

  2. The poetical license and sophistication are to the fore here, Kaushal. Yes, you look
    better when more slender, as according to the infamous quote, you can never be
    too thin or too rich, wrong on both counts. But selfishness and ego? I wouldn’t think you have those words in your vocabulary, or could ever be!
    The idea of being light and free like a bird in the photo is more than appealing!

    Joanna

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have no words to offer, Joanna, for such a wonderful comment that I’ll treasure. Your observation regarding ego and selfishness is correct, but sometimes it’s better to make a point using first-person. I’m glad you liked the picture and its message. Thank you so much, Joanna, for everything.

      Like

Leave a comment