क्या लिखूं मैं / What Should I Write


सोच रहा था
आज क्या लिखूं मैं
कि हवा का एक झोंका आया
मेरी खिड़कियों के रास्ते
जो ले आया अपने साथ वे पुरानी यादें,
जो विस्मृत सी हो चली थी
उसके जाने के साथ…

बंद हो चुका था
दिल का रोशनदान
मेरी धूप का वह टुकड़ा छिन सा गया था
जिस पर कभी सिर्फ मेरा हक होता था…

हवाएं भी अपना रास्ता बदल चुकी थी
पर आज यह क्या हुआ?
हां ये यादें ही थीं
उन वादों के, फरियादों के…

मैं एक दीपक जलाया करता था
अपनी खिड़की में
जैसे वह जलाया करती थी कभी
लेकिन हवाएं भी साथ नही देती
कमजोर का
दीपक बुझ गया…

लेकिन कमजोर नहीं था
अंबर में पूर्णिमा का चाँद
वह फूलों का ताज पहने मुस्कुरा रहा था
और पर्वतों और मेघों के साथ
अठखेलियां करते हुए
मुझमें गुदगुदी पैदा कर रहा था
और लाल गुलाब की मखमली पंखुड़ियों पर
उनकी टिमटिमाती रश्मियां
मुझे धकेल रही थी निद्रा देवी के आगोश में…

जब नींद खुली
तो बहुत कुछ था मेरे पास लिखने को…


✍️✍️✍️✍️✍️✍️


I was thinking
what to write today
when a gust of winds
came through my windows,
which brought those old memories
that had faded into oblivion
after she left…

The skylight of my heart was closed
and the piece of the sunshine
that used to be mine
was no longer mine…

The winds had also changed
its course abruptly
but what happened today?
The winds brought my memories back
of the mutual promises,
of plaints and complaints…

I used to light a lamp in my window
as she used to do
but even the winds
don’t prop up the weak
the lamp went out…

But the full moon in the sky
was not weak
he was smiling
wearing a crown of flowers
and making me tickle
while playing with
clouds and mountains
and their twinkling rays falling
on the velvety petals of red roses
were pushing me into the arms
of goddess of sleep…

When I woke up
I had a lot to write…


–Kaushal Kishore

images: pinterest

40 Comments

  1. Your thoughts in today’s post, Kaushal, emphasise the power of your poetic imagination, especially the description of the moon, which I love. The mesmerising picture of the moon reminds me
    of Rumi’s quote:
    “Moonlight floods the whole sky from horizon to horizon;
    How much it can fill your room depends on its windows.”

    I can only guess that your windows are tall!

    Joanna

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thank you, Joanna for your generous praise and for this lovely quote of Rumi. Much appreciated. My windows are neither tall or small, Joanna, but I keep them open. I have seen houses with big windows, but remain closed.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment