Lord Ganesha and His Symboloism

Today is Ganesh Chaturthi that marks the anniversary of Lord Ganesha’s arrival.

Hindus worship Lord Ganesha by bringing His idols to homes to attain success in their endeavors. Public Pandals are also set up where idols are installed during the 10-day festival.

In order to appease any God, the devotees first offer prayers to Lord Ganesha and then proceed with the other deity’s worship.

Lord Ganesha is bestowed with a special body with the head of an elephant and the remaining parts of human body.

Every part of His body has its own significance from the management angle, and symbolises certain qualities that a man in general, and a strategic leader in particular, must possess to achieve success.

In brief, these are as under:

1. Big head: Think big, out of the box
2. Large ears: Listen more attentively
3. Small mouth: Talk less
4. Big eyes: Look beyond what you see
5. Broken tusk: Retain good, throw away bad
6. Axe: To cut off all bonds of materialistic attachment
7. Trunk: High efficiency and adaptability
8. Large stomach: Peacefully digest all good and bad in life
9. Ladoo (sweet): Rewards of hard labour
10. Mouse (his carrier): Ride on the desires and keep them under control

Last year, Mumbai’s famous Lalbagcha Raja was not installed due to covid restrictions, but this year, like other big idols, it has been installed with restrictions on physical visits.

So the Lord’s message is:

I’m coming again this year,
But my message is loud and clear,
Celebrate festival with same fervour maintaining social distance,
And for humanity donate money, blood and ambulance,
I’m present in every lovely creature,
That has been created by the mother nature,
My arrival or departure every year is just a ritual,
As I remain with all of you as ever as usual..
My pandal will miss your Grandeur presence,
But keep the spirit and ethos with elegance..

गणपति बाप्पा मोरया!

वक्रतुण्ड महाकाय सूर्य कोटी समप्रभा
निर्विघ्नं कुरु मे देव सर्व-कार्येशु सर्वदा !!
(O Ganesha, of huge body with elephant head, shining like billions of suns, O God, remove all obstacles from my endeavors, forever.)

Let peace, prosperity and tranquility prevail all across the universe !!!

Happy Ganesh Chaturthi to all !!!!

–Kaushal Kishore

49 Comments

      1. Dear Kaushal, I do hope that I have not offended you by not using the correct way such an important words, my apologies! Let me wish you again:
        HAPPY GANESH CHATURTHI!

        Joanna
        PS. I am not as clever as I thought!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Never mind, Joanna. I don’t go by the words that may carry a different meaning with change in just one letter. I always go by the feelings behind the words used. And I know for sure that your feelings will never go wrong. Thank you and thank you again for your double wishes!!

        Like

  1. What an amazing post! Especially loved the explanation about each of his “angaas” signifying something. Considering recent anti-Hindu propaganda in the South, it is heartwarming to see us Hindus unite for our festivals, despite whatever is said by brainwashed bigots. Loved this! Ganapathi Bappa Morya! 🙏

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I’m happy that you liked the explanation. Thank you, Sahana. The Ganesh festival was revived by the freedom fighter and social reformer, Lokmanya Bal Gangadhar Tilak in Maharashtra to bridge the gap between Brahmins and non-Brahmins. I like the spirit and fervour of this festival.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Wonderful! Have a Happy Ganesh Chaturthi 🙏
    I notice in the video that at the bottom of some shots there were people writing or painting. Would these be pictures or prayers? Do they have a name? 🙏

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Ashley for your good wishes that I reciprocate. But I appreciate your minute observation. I’m also not sure, but I think they were drawing some religious pictures. 🙏💐

      Liked by 1 person

  3. You are not only kind but wise beyond the way of an ordinary person. That is how I meant and my feelings were genuine, as I love India with a passion! Also, thank you for your excellent symbolic knowledge, as I have learned things I didn’t know.

    Thank you!

    Joanna

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re always welcome, Joanna. You are a perfect human being. That’s why I always hold you in high esteem. Thank you so much. Good night!

      Like

  4. बहुत सुन्दर अवलोकन गणेश चतुर्थी के लिए और हार्दिक शुभकामनाएं आपको 🌹🙏🌹
    बहुत सुन्दर भजन कि वीडियो 👏🌹 गणपति बप्पा मोरिया 🌹🙏♥️🌹

    Liked by 1 person

    1. आपको पोस्ट पसंद आया जानकर खुशी हुई। बहुत बहुत धन्यवाद आपको 🙏💐🌷

      Like

Leave a comment