Tagore, the Gurudev

Today, as we commemorate the birth anniversary of Nobel laureate Gurudev Rabindranath Tagore (7 May 1861 – 7 August 1941), we honor the enduring legacy of this remarkable figure, whose literary works, poetry, dramas, stories, music, paintings, and philosophical insights continue to resonate across generations. Tagore’s profound influence is evident in the enduring popularity of Rabindra Sangeet, a genre of music characterised by his distinctive compositions.

At the age of 16, Tagore published his first substantial poems under the pseudonym Bhanusimha (Sun Lion). Despite briefly attending Presidency College, Kolkata, his aversion to formal education led him to depart after just one day. Similarly, he abandoned his studies at Law School, University College, London, due to his disdain for conventional learning.

Tagore therefore founded his own school, Viswa-Bharati, in 1901 in Shantiniketan. With just five students and five teachers, his vision aimed to transcend religious and regional barriers, fostering an environment where education could thrive beyond the confines of traditional classrooms. Classes were conducted outdoors under the trees rather than indoors. 

Tagore crafted a curriculum integrating art, human values, cultural exchange, and environmental sustainability. Viswa-Bharati has since evolved into a public research university. A visionary, Tagore urged people to embrace peace and brotherhood, departing from the pursuit of materialism.

Tagore’s quote in this connection is simply unforgettable –

It’s very simple to be happy, but it’s very difficult to be simple.”

‘Gitanjali’ (Song Offerings) won him the prestigious Nobel Prize in Literature in 1913 for 

its deeply moving, original poetry. Comprising 157 songs, it reveres the omnipresence of divinity. Remarkably, Tagore became the first non-European to receive such an honour. Originally published in 1910, ‘Gitanjali’ was later translated into English in 1912.

Beyond his literary achievements, Tagore actively participated in India’s independence struggle through his writings. He notably renounced his knighthood in protest of the Jallianwala Bagh massacre in 1919.

His compositions “Jana Gana Mana” and “Aamar Shonar Bangla” have been honoured as the national anthems of India and Bangladesh respectively. Additionally, the Sri Lankan national anthem, “Sri Lanka Matha,” drew inspiration from one of his compositions. Furthermore, his song “Banglar Mati Banglar Jol” has been adopted as the state anthem of West Bengal.

Gandhiji affectionately referred to him as Gurudev, while he reciprocated by addressing Gandhiji as Mahatma.

One of Gurudev’s renowned saying goes, 

You cannot cross the sea merely by standing and staring at the water.”

To truly appreciate his literary genius, immerse yourself in his work. Here’s one of Tagore’s beloved poems, “Vocation,” capturing a child’s evolving dreams and the quest for a vocation.

VOCATION

When the gong sounds ten in the morning and I walk to school by our lane.

Every day I meet the hawker crying, “Bangles, crystal bangles!”

There is nothing to hurry him on, there is no road he must take, no place he must go to, no time when he must come home.

I wish I were a hawker, spending my day in the road, crying, “Bangles, crystal bangles!”

When at four in the afternoon I come back from the school,

I can see through the gate of that house the gardener digging the ground.

He does what he likes with his spade, he soils his clothes with dust, nobody takes him to task if he gets baked in the sun or gets wet.

I wish I were a gardener digging away at the garden with nobody to stop me from digging.

Just as it gets dark, in the evening and my mother sends me to bed,

I can see through my open window the watchman walking up and down.

The lane is dark and lonely, and the street-lamp stands like a giant with onevted eye in its head.

The watchman swings his lantern and walks with his shadow at his side, and never once go to bed in his life.

I wish I were a watchman walking the streets all night, chasing the shadows with my lantern.

-Rabindranath Tagore

–Kaushal Kishore

37 Comments

  1. As I told you before, Kaushal, I was going to be delayed in my comments, in fact I was not able to use my laptop yesterday and even today, until now. I am back but I will write my comment a little bit later as of course, this wonderful post about my beloved Tagore is not to be missed! I can already tell you, dear Kaushal, that I love every word of your tribute!

    Joanna

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks a lot, Joanna, for taking time out of commenting! I’m so glad that you liked the post on Tagore. No hurry, comment as per your convenience, Joanna.

      Like

  2. Thank you for the great honor you have bestomed on the work and life of Gurudev Rabindranath Tagore. His work, poetry and wisdom was and continues to be a true blessing. I have read some not all of his works in the past. I have not read “Song Offerings” thank you for the introduction to his Nobel winning piece. Vocation is profound and written on many levels. Thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. So happy to receive your comment! I’m happy that you’re familiar with his name and work. He was a multifaceted personality which had deep impacts across generations. Thank you, Suzette, for sharing your wonderful reflections.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. As I wrote on the day, Kaushal, I love your tribute to my beloved poet, Rabindranath Tagore. When I came across his book in Poland, I loved it so much, that it never left my side, and came with me to England. It resides on my desk, now in English, and I know by heart many of his poems. I also wrote about him in my blog paying  tribute to his greatness. It tells how extraordinary his works are, when someone on the other side of the world, reads them and is hooked for life!

    Thank you, Kaushal, for your wonderfully eloquent tribute, with all the important details included. I also love the images of the poet in your presentation!

    Bahut Khoob!

    Joanna

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thank you so much, Joanna, for such a beautiful response. I know Tagore has influenced you in a big way, like many others across the globe. When I visited Shantiniketan, I came to know much more about him. His Viswa Bharti gives an altogether different feel, contrary to what we see in other universities. I’m really glad to receive your appreciation for the post. Deeply appreciated!
      Namaste 🙏

      Like

Leave a comment