Echoes of Connectivity

In the hum of mobiles 

and the internet’s sway…

I mull over simpler times, 

now distant and gray…

When friends, with each call, 

rushed by my side…

Sharing every moment of life, 

nothing to hide…

.

But that world of touch and 

embrace has faded away…

Lost to the virtual haze 

of our modern day…

Amidst this digital sprawl, 

I hesitate to roam…

Seeking relics of yore, 

my heart’s true home…

.

Yet, the yearning and longing 

within me stir…

For those days when 

connections were pure…

I wonder if clinging to the past, 

I dare to roam…

Risk being disowned, left to stand 

alone by my own…

.

In a realm beyond this digital 

storm’s embrace…

I dread the thought of losing 

myself, my face…

To be an outsider online, 

strange and quaint…

In a world ruled by emojis, 

where emotions faint…

.

But whether I choose to stay 

or decide to go…

The memories of the past 

will always glow…

For in my heart, that era 

still lives on…

Even as the world around me 

has moved on…

.

So I linger here, betwixt 

the past and present…

Hoping for a bridge, 

a moment resplendent…

To find solace even 

in this digital sea…

Yet yearning for the simplicity 

that used to be…

.

–Kaushal Kishore 

image: pinterest

33 Comments

  1. Thank you, Kaushal, for the vivid description of the time past. We must remember that when we think of the past with longing, we are getting old!

    I agree with you on all points, as simplicity is the key to happiness.

    I love the image and what it implies.

    Joanna

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thank you, Joanna, for your kind words that I truly appreciate. You’re right, simplicity is the key to happiness, but it’s difficult to be simple, as my teacher used to say. Glad you liked the image!

      Like

  2. I think we all want and need a digital detox. That’s why there are so many mental health issues with people of ALL ages. Only we (as individuals) can decide to take a vacation from our phone, from computers, from sad posts, and focus on being with family/friends in real life, etc. We cannot blame the internet. Being digital is a choice… YES, it’s part of our lives, we cannot get rid of it entirely, but we can certainly “choose” what we allow to enter our brains. A few of my friends and I have chosen to move away from social media, ie Facebook, Instagram, etc. Why, there was nothing happy in it, so much nonsense, not much was enriching. I have my Blog, but I’ve noticed that many Bloggers are in dismal moods lately, I need to move away from them, bid farewell. Many have stopped writing, they don’t know what to talk about anymore. COVID changed our lives, then our world has gone in disarray (wars, inflation, migrant crisis, climate crisis, etc.) Anyhow, I wish you, all of us peace and finding our way in life. I’m not sure, but maybe your sadness is from the loss of your mother’s love. it’s hard, from one of your posts, she was your BEST friend.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much, Monica, for your time to read and comment with much understanding and thoughtfulness! You’re right, nothing is good or bad, it’s upto us to decide how to use it. I have a fixed time slot for social media. Rest is for interacting with people, from which I gather ideas.
      Yes, loss of my mom was a big jolt for me, but covid gave me an idea and opportunity to start a blog.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Yes KK our generation is like a bridge between old and new eras. We have seen the good old days and the new tech days and may be we will witness still amazing world. We need to change and we have changed. Lovely write up💖

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So true, Venky, we have changed, and will change further, if so needed. Change is inevitable. Resistance to change is pointless. Thank you for sharing your beautiful reflections 🙏💖

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you so much, KK. I have been writing since 2012. I like to share things that help make people’s lives better, more aware, and make the world a better place. Have a lovely day/night, depending on your time zone.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment