Leaning Temple of Kashi

We all know about the Leaning Tower of Pisa, one of the wonders of the world

The architects of the Leaning Tower of Pisa, located behind the Pisa Cathedral, did not want the building to lean. Yet the accidental tilt eventually launched the building into fame, even classifying the structure as a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

But most of us do not know that this is a more tilted structure in India than the Leaning Tower of Pisa.

In India, in the holy city of Kashi or Varanasi, (which has more than 23000 temples), there is a Ratneshwar Mahadev Temple. Its tilt is greater (9 degrees) than Italy’s famous Leaning Tower of Pisa (4 degrees).

Although there was minor damage to some elements of the top structure due to lightning in 2015, it is still the same.

Ratneshwar Mahadev Temple near Manikarnika Ghat, Varanasi is a unique temple in this city of temples. The temple leans heavily towards the back, and its garbha griha (sanctum sanctorum) usually remains under water of the Ganges for most of the year, except for a few months during the summer.

There are many interesting legends behind its tilted nature. But the most famous legend is that it was built by a servant of Raja Man Singh for his mother, whose name was Ratna Bai.

Once the temple was built, the man proudly announced that he had repaid his mother’s debt. As soon as he uttered these words, much to his shock, the temple began to tilt backwards (north-west), to show that the debt to one’s mother can never be repaid.

This is the reason why it is also called Matri Rin (Mother’s Debt) Temple.


–Kaushal Kishore

48 Comments

  1. I can only imagine, Kaushal, how emotional you were feeling when typing this
    fascinating story about the Leaning Temple of Kashi!
    We all know about The Leaning Tower of Pisa, and yet again you brought something for us to learn about. And what a legend it is! Not only the Temple is
    beautiful but meant as a tribute to the mother of the builder it become known
    as Matri Rin (Mother’s Dept Temple) as the universe corrected his erroneous belief that one can repay a mother’s devotion by making the Temple of Kashi lean for eternity as a poignant reminder.
    Thank you, Kaushal, for the pictures that are of great importance to fully appreciate the story.

    Joanna

    Liked by 3 people

    1. You’re right, Joanna! I had seen this temple many times during my childhood, but today when my mother is no longer with me physically, it was a time to get emotional. Earlier we used to stay near the Ganges, visiting ghats almost every day. Time passes, but memories never fade. Thank you, Joanna, for appreciating the things in right perspective. It means so much to me.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Well, sometimes a son knows. My son tells me all kinds of truths. I was only able to have one child (numerous miscarriages … I almost lost him) & he is my jewel. We disagree on many things but we are completely together most other things. The main thing is that we almost never argue & if/when we do, it’s with respect & love.

        I could tell you so much about my son & how he has been so right about so many things (mostly about the men in my life) but at the time, I wouldn’t listen. But now I realize … the kid knew what he was talking about. Kids usually do.

        He’s a grown man now. Thirty years old, married & with a baby girl of his own. He’s in the US Army, deployed in Romania. He has a dual degree from the State University of NY at Buffalo (where I got my degree & so did my father). I could not be more proud of him if I tried.

        Liked by 2 people

      2. So glad to know about your worthy son. It’s a rarity now-a-days to see such an intelligent and understanding son. That way you are so fortunate that both of you mutually appreciate each other. Thanks so much for sharing your own experience that may be useful for many readers like me. Much appreciated!

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Suzette for your kind comment! In fact, many people in India also don’t know about this temple. I appreciate that you liked the post.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, Cindy, it’s surprising, because the base of temple remains under the Ganges water most of the year. I’m glad you liked it. Thanks so much 💕💐

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I knew Varanasi was an important city, but 23,000 temples that is just astounding. It was interesting to learn about the leaning temple and the story around it. You can certainly never repay the debt to your mother.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for your kind comment! I have seen old lanes of Varanasi, where almost every alternate house has a temple. I’m happy that you liked information about the leaning temple. Much appreciated!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. You bring wonders to us Sir, the conclusion of “mother’s debt” truly gave me goosebumps 🥺 you are wonderful too for sharing the best to the world. Loved the divine power in it. Thanks a ton again. The knowledge we receive from you can ever be repaid? No never ❤💛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m overwhelmed, Suma! I truly appreciate your generosity and kind feelings! You’re a wonderful person I have come across. In fact, I learn a lot from fascinating friends on this forum. We all are learning from one another. Let this spirit remain alive. Thank you so much for your kind words that mean so much to me 😊💖💐🙏

      Like

Leave a comment